Michael

At the age of 15, I was fed up with my hedonistic lifestyle and turned to the mountains. Climbing just by myself in the beginning, I got to meet like-minded people who late became my loyal climbing buddies to this day. I have logged countess ascents and continue to do accumulate mountain adventures. Easiness and hardships, success and failure, summit joy and frustration: both positive and negative emotions keep adding to my experience and continue to deeply attach me to the mountains. Many times only upon returning to the valley I realized why I ascended.

The love of the mountains is what is driving me until today. Come join me on my next ascent. Be me guest, make your long cherished dream come true!

With best regards,
Michael

 

Michael’s CV

July-8-1971, born in Innsbruck and enjoyed an untroubled childhood int the Unterland of Tyrol.
1995 to 2001, student of geo sciences in in Innsbruck. This time also formed my passion with alpinism. 1997 I finished the „Staatlich geprüfter Bergführer“ exam or “State approved Mountain- and Ski Guide and Snow Sport Instructor“. In 2001 I graduated from Innsbruck University as Mag. rer. nat. (Master of geo sciences).
Since 2002 I work as a full time mountain guide. My favorite discipline being rock climbing and long combined tours. I managed to successfully complete many free climbing tours (up to UIAA 9+/10-) as well as alpine rock climbing tours (up to UIAA9).
2003 to 2008: Focusing on Guiding in the Western Alps and high mountains across the globe (i.e. Karakoram, Chogolsa 7668m), South America (various 6000 m peaks and of course: Aconcagua with 6962m).
2008: Foundation of Firngrat and settlement with my spouse Gerlinde in Maurach / Achensee in Tyrol.
March-16-2010: Birth of my son Johannes.

Michael

Im zarten Alter von 15 Jahren begann ich in die Berge zu gehen, hatte ich doch genug von meinem bisherigen, hedonistischen Lebensstil. Anfangs als Einzelkämpfer, lernte ich im Laufe der Zeit Gleichgesinnte kennen, die heute noch meine treuen Bergkameraden sind.Ich habe unzählige Bergfahrten hinter (und vor) mir – und unzählige Erlebnisse. Leichtigkeit und Mühsal, Erfolg und Enttäuschung, Gipfelglück und Frustration – ob es nun positive oder negative Empfindungen waren, die mich am Berg gefangen hielten, sie haben mich reich gemacht, reich an Erfahrung. Oft wusste ich erst, als ich wieder unten war, warum ich hinaufgegangen bin.
Die Liebe zu den Bergen ist geblieben, bis zum heutigen Tag. Gehe mit mir in die Berge, sei mein Gast, erfülle dir einen lang gehegten Traum.
Mit besten Grüßen,
Michael

 

Vita in aller Kürze

Am 8. Juli 1971 in Innsbruck das Licht der Welt erblickt darf ich eine unbeschwerte Kindheit in einem Dorf im Tiroler Unterland erleben.
Mitte bis Ende der 90er Jahre studiere ich in der Tiroler Landeshauptstadt Erdwissenschaften. Die Studentenzeit in Innsbruck ist es auch, die meine alpinistische Laufbahn entscheidend prägt.1997Abschluss der Bergführerausbildung,2001 Mag. rer. nat.
Seit 2002 bin ich hauptberuflicher Bergführer, meine Lieblingsdisziplinen sind Felsklettern und große kombinierte Touren. Mir gelingen zahlreiche Sportkletter- (bis UIAA 9+/10-) und Alpintouren (bis UIAA 9).
2003-2008 Hauptbetätigungsfeld sind die Westalpen, daneben Expeditionen in Asien (Karakorum, Chogolisa 7668m) und Südamerika (diverse 6000er und Aconcagua)2008 gründe ich Firngrat und wohne in Achenkirch, am Fuße von Rofan- und Karwendelgebirge, in Tirol
Am 16. März 2010 wird mein Sohn Johannes geboren